Locating Prada

Prada, an ancient village also known as San Girolamo, is at an altitude of 577 metres above sea level, between the Dragonato and Guasta streams. It lies in a small valley, sheltered from the northern wind, on the mountain above Ravecchia. The only way to get there is on foot, through a path that starts from Ravecchia, or from Serta, in Giubiasco's territory, where there used to be another village which existed in the same period as Prada. Another option is from the Sasso Corbaro castle through Pian Laghetto.

Placehold


Foundation and decline

It is unknown when the first inhabitants started living there; Prada probably already existed around the end of the 13th century if not earlier. The reason why Prada was abandoned and when this occurred are unknown. An urban legend blames Prada's depopulation on an epidemic of the plague dating from 1629 to 1630, known as "Federico Borromeo's plague", that is mentioned in Manzoni's "I promessi sposi" ("The Betrothed") and also swept through Milan six months after it struck Ticino. It is said that the village of Prada was used as a lazaretto, but there is no evidence to support this theory either. When Rudolf Schinz, a protestant pastor, visited Ticino in 1770, he wrote in his chronicles about the houses in Prada, saying that they had been built in a hurry to give shelter to the population during the plague epidemic. However, he doesn't specify which epidemic it was. It should be noted that in 1770 Prada had already been abandoned for over a century. One thing is certain: the houses in Prada are anything but built in a hurry and in fact they show signs that they were built with precision and care, using very strong lime mortar and carefully worked and set stones, as we can still see to this day. If the builders of Prada hadn't used such care, we would be facing much worse ruins. The last records of people from Prada in the registries of the Brotherhood of the Blessed Sacrament, in the parish of San Biagio in Ravecchia, date back to about 1630-1640, just after the aforementioned epidemic. Another theory, maybe the most reliable, is that Prada lost its population gradually due to a series of unknown causes.

Placehold


Historical facts

Prada, along with Ravecchia, used to be part of the municipal territory of Bellinzona, like Montecarasso, Daro, Artore, and Pedemonte. As such, Prada's inhabitants enjoyed the status of villagers, like those who lived within the confines of the walls or in the outskirts; in fact in 1430, Giovanni Zanolo from Prada was appointed as a representative for Ravecchia and Daro in the town hall of Bellinzona. In November of that same year, Zanolo also became the city's Procurator and Mayor. The list of members of the "Territorial Council" who had a seat between January 1629 and July 1631, during the "Borromeo" plague, include a Marietto del Grando from Prada. On the 5th of January 1498 the Council granted a subsidy to Prada's inhabitants for their existing church. On the 12th of November 1523 a specific ruling established a perpetual benefit, under the patronage of the people of Prada, setting aside 60 "lire terzuole" every year to have a chaplain who would celebrate Mass on Sundays. On the 9th of December 1583, Saint Carlo Borromeo visited Prada. Accounts of his visit state that at that time there were 40 families in the village. That meant a population of 140 to 200 people; Bellinzona, counted around 1200-1400 inhabitants in that year.

Placehold


About the village

Prada, like most old villages in the Ticino valley, was situated at mid-height from the valley floor, as we can see with San Defendente in Sementina, San Bernardo Curzùtt in Monte Carasso, Sassa above Gorduno and Aragno above Arbedo, just to mention a few in the neighbourhood of Bellinzona. The river Ticino hadn't been yet tamed into its embankments, so people avoided building near the river due to the excessive risk of floods that occurred periodically and could wipe out entire villages. Another reason was that in those times (the Middle Ages) the economy was based on agriculture and sheep farming, so people tried to take advantage of any patch of land that could be used to grow cereals, vines and for livestock grazing. For example, in 1457, the plain of Magadino was considered a beautiful location with wellsprings and still and running waters. After the reclamation done at the beginning of the 20th century and the building of embankments for the river Ticino, the plain of Magadino also provided agricultural subsistence; however, it had been fairly valuable in the past as well. People could travel through it or go fishing and it was also a good place for livestock grazing. Its unfortunate reputation as a swampy and diseased plain where unruly soldiers roamed is a myth that somewhat needs dispelling. Going back to Prada, its houses were simple, with two rooms one on top of the other; both the house and the rooms had external access. They had no cellars or chimneys. Some of the doors had an arch, others had a stone lintel which resembled the arch-shaped ones with a hint of a rounding on the upper part. A sculpted cross is always present on the stone lintel of the doors and in some cases of the small windows, but there never is a date. Unfortunately only one of these lintels is still in its original location. Four more have been found in the vicinity in the ground and are currently in the churchyard. One lintel was found recently (2014) in the upper part of Prada, again bearing a carved cross. As mentioned, the houses didn't have a chimney: the fire would be lit in a corner and a square opening in the wall measuring about 25 cm on each side was provided as a vent for the smoke. Documents report the existence of a Lower Prada and an Upper Prada. The latter (called by the natives "pra d'Zura") is a group of ruins located five minutes uphill from the church, on the path that leads to Monti di Ravecchia. In addition to these two clusters, along the hill there are more remains of houses and walls that used to be part of farmhouses, evidence of the transfer of livestock. Unfortunately the ruins of the village are slowly being hidden by the ground and the growing vegetation, but the first destruction was man's own doing, breaking down houses near the church to build the steeple in 1816, as already mentioned in the specific chapter. The same thing may have happened when the choir was built during the enlargement of the church around 1680 and again in the early 1900's, when the path to Monti di Ravecchia was built; not to mention the theft of stone lintels. A census from the 1980's states that Prada had around fifty buildings between houses, stables and barns.

Placehold


Subsistence Economy

The inhabitants of Prada used to live off agriculture, viticulture and animal farming. They used all the terraced land around the village; in fact one can still see the small walls they built to support these small fields. There is a significant number of them in upper Prada, but villagers also used to go down to Ravecchia to tend to the fields. One must consider that the territory going from Ravecchia to Prada wasn't how we see it today. In medieval times the forest had not yet invaded the hilly territory, where vineyards were predominant. Vineyards were very close to the homes of Prada. In the sixteenth century one third of the usable land was reserved for vineyards. Barley, millet, and rye were also grown and were milled locally. Chestnuts also were used as food. The remarkable viticulture was due to the fact that families used to buy grains by selling the excess must, so they didn't have the hassle of growing the grains themselves and risking a poor harvest. Products from sheep farming, such as milk, cheese, and butter, were also available and were produced also in higher pastures like Arbino. In short, Prada's inhabitants, like in other villages in the valleys of Ticino, even at greater altitudes, were completely autonomous and self-sufficient.

Placehold


The Church of San Girolamo and San Rocco

Even after the village was abandoned, the parson of Ravecchia was required to celebrate twelve Holy Masses a year, four of which in prearranged holidays. This practice continued until the end of the 19th century, when the masses were reduced to four and then two, as still occurs today, for Whit Monday and for Saint Rocco (celebrated on the second Sunday of August). Until the 1950's, there used to be a procession that started from the chuch of San Biagio to celebrate Saint Rocco. The ancient church was not as we see it now; it was smaller. The choir was added around the end of the 17th century (1680-90). The lunette depicting Saint Girolamo, above the choir window, bears the date 1686. The steeple was built in 1816. These tangible marks show a particular fondness of Ravecchia's people for this place, although the village had already been abandoned by then. Prada's church steeple we see today was built in 1816. It cost 993.13 Milanese lire and it was built by using the stones from the houses, as we can see from two carefully worked stones, one set in the south wall and one in the north one, approximately halfway up the steeple. These stones clearly show the hole where the tip of a bolt used to be inserted, indicating that they used to be part of the entrance to the ancient houses. More of these stones can be found inside the steeple. Two bells were also bought in that same year. In 1938, during the construction of the new St. John the Baptist hospital, a carved slab of stone was found bearing this inscription: Haec sacra turris edificata est a fundamentis anno Domini M.D.C.C.C.XVI, which means: "This holy tower was built from its foundations in the year of our Lord 1816". Today this slab is located on the internal wall of the entrance to the churchyard. According to reports from pastoral visits, before the current steeple was built there used to be a small bell-gable above the main entrance. On the 18th of May 2010, while cutting down the shrubs growing amidst the ruins of the ancient village, two finely carved crescent-shaped stone lintels were found. This was the first finding of lintels of this shape. They used to be part of two rear entrances and bear no inscriptions. In fact they were found within the perimeter of the only building that still had the main door lintel in its original place. This lintel is triangular and bears a sculpted cross.

Placehold


Votive art

Late medieval paintings were discovered beneath a layer of plaster during the restoration of the choir murals in 2007. Thanks to this final important specialistic work we were able to gain further important information on the history of the church. As already mentioned, the choir that used to be where the altar now stands was added around 1680. Therefore the church used to be smaller, ending at the triumphal arch, which also acted as an end wall. Evidence of this is a small cross-shaped window, which is only visible from the attic of the church. To know more about it, though, would require an archaeological exploration under the floor. The altar was probably small, stood against the wall and was almost certainly decorated. Indeed, remains of an architectural step can be seen along the lower internal margins of the intrados (on both sides). A piece of painted plaster was found in the left intrados mortar that covered illustrations of characters of the Old Testament. This piece used to be part of the aforementioned architectural step that connected the intrados to the original wall, subsequently demolished. According to the restoration workers, this finding bears a fragment of a spiral decoration that could represent the "Tree of Jesse" and accompanied the figures depicted on the intrados (Christ's genealogy, from Isaiah's prophecy). On half of the intrados, pointing towards the faithful, one can admire ten characters (busts of major and minor prophets, kings, ancestors of Christ). Among these figures, Moses is unmistakable as he is depicted sporting a pair of horns. Each one of these characters is accompanied by a cartouche that is hardly readable since the letters are almost completely gone. Two other characters are present but are still hidden by plaster. Probably there were no capitals originally, but only smooth and painted abutments. Restoration workers can make a plausible comparison with the north apse (by the Seregnese workshop) of the church of Saint Ambrose in the town of Negrentino-Prugiasco.

Placehold




Text and pictures are taken from the book
"Prada una chiesa un villaggio"
by Pierluigi Piccaluga























contatori

Lage

Das alte Dorf von Prada, auch San Girolamo genannt, befindet sich auf 577 m ü. M. in einer windgeschützten Mulde oberhalb von Ravecchia zwischen den Bächen Dragonato und Guasta. Erreichbar ist es nur zu Fuß über einen Saumpfad von Ravecchia oder von Serta aus, das zu Giubiasco gehört und zur gleichen Zeit wie Prada ebenfalls besiedelt war. Auch von der Burg Sasso Corbaro führt ein Weg über Pian Laghetto nach Prada.

Placehold


Entstehung und Niedergang

Man weiß nicht, wann sich die ersten Bewohner in Prada niedergelassen haben; wahrscheinlich Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts, vielleicht sogar früher. Unbekannt ist auch, wann und warum Prada aufgegeben wurde. Einer Überlieferung zufolge war der Grund die sogenannte „Federico Borromeo-Pest“ von 1629-1630 (auch von Alessandro Manzoni in seinem Roman „I promessi sposi“ [Die Brautleute] erwähnt), die das Tessin und sechs Monate später auch Mailand heimgesucht hatte. Es heißt, dass Prada als Lazarett für die Pestkranken diente; aber dies wurde nie glaubwürdig bestätigt. Als der protestantische Pastor Rudolf Schinz 1770 das Tessin besuchte, schrieb er in seinen Berichten, dass die Häuser von Prada in Eile erbaut worden waren, um der Bevölkerung während der Pestepidemie Schutz zu gewähren; er nannte aber nicht ausdrücklich, um welche Epidemie es sich handelte. Diesbezüglich ist zu erwähnen, dass Prada 1770 schon seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert unbewohnt war. Eines ist sicher: Die Häuser von Prada sind alles andere als in Eile erbaut worden; ihre Bauweise ist ausgesprochen solide: Es wurde fester Mörtel benutzt und die Steine sorgfältig bearbeitet und kunstgerecht eingefügt, wie man noch heute feststellen kann. Dieser Bauweise ist es zu verdanken, dass Prada heute nicht noch stärker zerfallen ist. Aus den Büchern der Bruderschaft des Heiligen Sakraments der Kirchgemeinde San Biagio von Ravecchia geht hervor, dass die letzten Eintragungen über Personen aus Prada aus den Jahren 1630–1640 stammen, also unmittelbar nach der oben beschriebenen Pestepidemie. Einer anderen Vermutung zufolge, vielleicht der glaubwürdigsten, wurde Prada aus bisher noch unbekannten Gründen schrittweise verlassen.

Placehold


Zum geschichtlichen Hintergrund

Zusammen mit Ravecchia gehörte Prada (wie auch Montecarasso, Daro, Artore und Pedemonte) zur Gemeinde Bellinzona. Die Einwohner Pradas besaßen den gleichen Status wie die Leute, die innerhalb der Stadtmauern oder in den Vororten lebten. Dies zeigt auch die Tatsache, dass 1430 Giovanni Zanolo von Prada als Vertreter von Ravecchia und Daro ins Rathaus von Bellinzona berufen wurde; im November desselben Jahres wurde er auch Prokurator und Bürgermeister der Stadt. Im Verzeichnis der „Gebietsräte“, die zwischen 1629 und 1631, also zur Zeit der „Borromeo- Pest“, einen Sitz innehatten, befand sich auch ein gewisser Marietto del Grando aus Prada. Am 5. Januar 1498 gewährte der Rat verschiedene Zuschüsse für Kirchen, unter anderem auch für die schon bestehende in Prada. Am 12. November 1523 wurde, mittels entsprechender Urkunde, unter der Schirmherrschaft der Einwohner Pradas eine unbefristete Unterstützung festgelegt: Jährlich wurden 60 Lire Terzuole für einen Kaplan zur Verfügung gestellt, um an Festtagen die Heilige Messe zu lesen. Am 9. Dezember 1583 besuchte San Carlo Borromeo Prada; aus der Dokumentation dieses Besuchs wissen wir, dass damals 40 Familien das Dorf bewohnten; das heißt, zwischen 140 und 200 Personen. Zu jener Zeit hatte Bellinzona zwischen 1200 und 1400 Einwohner.

Placehold


Das alte Prada

Prada lag, wie die meisten alten Siedlungen im Tessin-Tal (San Defendente oberhalb von Sementina, San Bernardo Curzutt oberhalb von Monte Carasso, Sassa oberhalb von Gorduno und Aragno oberhalb von Arbedo, nur um einige in der Umgebung von Bellinzona zu nennen) auf halber Höhe über dem Talboden. Der Fluss Tessin war noch nicht kanalisiert, deshalb wurde nicht an den Flussufern gebaut; es war wegen der wiederkehrenden Überschwemmungen zu gefährlich, weil ganze Dörfer weggeschwemmt werden konnten. Ein anderer Grund war, dass man in jener Zeit (Mittelalter) von Landwirtschaft und Viehzucht lebte und somit versuchte, jeden Landstrich auszunutzen, um Getreide und Reben anzupflanzen und das Vieh weiden zu lassen. 1457 zum Beispiel sprach man von der Magadinoebene als einen wunderschönen Ort mit Quellen und stehenden aber auch fließenden Gewässern. Nach der Gewässerkorrektion Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts und der Kanalisierung des Flusses wurde die Ebene landwirtschaftlich bebaut. Aber auch schon vorher wurde die Ebene genutzt: Man durchquerte sie, man fischte, man brachte auch das Vieh zum Weiden. Den Ruf einer sumpfigen, ungesunden und von undisziplinierten Soldaten heimgesuchten Magadinoebene sollte man etwas relativieren. Kehren wir nach Prada zurück: Die Häuser waren einfach, mit zwei übereinanderliegenden Räumen, beide mit Außenzugang. Sie hatten weder einen Keller noch einen Rauchfang. Die Türen hatten entweder einen Bogen oder einen Steinbalken, aber auch dieser erinnert mit einer im oberen Teil leichten Abrundung an einen Bogen. Wie immer ist auf den Steinbalken der Türen und manchmal auch der Fensterchen ein eingehauenes, nicht datiertes Kreuz zu sehen. Leider befindet sich nur noch einer dieser Steinbalken an seinem ursprünglichen Ort, vier weitere, heute im Kirchhof zu sehen, fand man auf dem Gelände verstreut. Ein zusätzlicher wurde 2014 im oberen Teil von Prada entdeckt, auch dieser mit einem eingelassenen Kreuz. Wie schon erwähnt hatten die Häuser keinen Kamin, das Feuer wurde in einer Ecke entfacht und als Abzug diente ein etwa 25 cm großes, quadratisches Fensterchen in der Mauer. In den Dokumenten liest man von Ober-Prada und Nieder-Prada. Als Ober-Prada (für die Einheimischen „pra d’Zura“) bezeichnet man die Gruppe von Ruinen, die sich fünf Minuten oberhalb der Kirche auf dem Weg zu den Monti di Ravecchia befindet. Außer diesen zwei Dorfteilen kann man in der Umgebung noch andere Reste von Häusern und Stützmauern der Maiensäße finden, die auf Wanderweidewirtschaft (Transhumanz) hinweisen. Leider verschwinden, von der Vegetation überwuchert, die Überreste des Dorfes langsam aber unaufhaltsam. Aber mit der Zerstörung begann schon vorher der Mensch selber, als die Häuser in der Nähe der Kirche abgerissen wurden, um 1816 den Kirchturm zu errichten, wie schon im vorangehenden Kapitel erwähnt. Es ist auch nicht auszuschließen, dass man für den Bau des Chores, als die Kirche um 1680 ausgebaut wurde, die Steine der Häuser gebraucht hatte; ebenso zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts, um den Saumpfad auf die Monti di Ravecchia anzulegen. Nicht zu vergessen sind auch Diebstähle der Steinbalken über den Türen. Laut einer Bestandsaufnahme der 1980er Jahre bestand das Dorf Prada aus ungefähr fünfzig Häusern, Ställen und Scheunen.

Placehold


Naturalwirtschaft

Die Einwohner Pradas lebten vorwiegend von der Landwirtschaft, dem Weinbau und der Viehzucht. Sie nutzten alle Terrassierungen um das Dorf herum aus; noch heute kann man die Stützmauern dieser kleinen Felder sehen; vor allem in Ober-Prada hat es eine recht große Anzahl. Aber die Leute stiegen auch bis nach Ravecchia hinunter, um die Felder zu bestellen. Es gilt zu beachten, dass das Gebiet von Ravecchia bis Prada damals nicht so aussah wie heute. Dieses hügelige Gelände, wo vorwiegend Weinbau betrieben wurde, war damals nicht so bewaldet: Die Weinberge reichten bis zu den Häusern Pradas. Um 1500 war ungefähr ein Drittel des urbar gemachten Bodens für den Weinbau bestimmt. Man baute auch Getreide wie die Gerste, die Hirse und den Roggen an, die alle vor Ort gemahlen wurden. Auch Kastanien waren ein wichtiges Nahrungsmittel. Die beachtliche Menge an Weinbergen ist darauf zurückzuführen, dass sich die Familien mit dem Verkauf des überschüssigen Mostes das Getreide kaufen konnten, ohne sich mit dem Anbau abzumühen und einen eventuellen schlechten Ertrag zu riskieren. Es gab natürlich auch Produkte der Viehzucht wie Milch, Käse und Butter, die auch in den höher gelegenen Alpen wie in Arbino hergestellt wurden. Kurz gesagt waren die Bewohner Pradas, wie auch der anderen, an den Hängen gelegenen Dörfer der Tessiner Täler, Selbstversorger und völlig autonom.

Placehold


Die Kirche von San Girolamo und San Rocco

Auch nachdem Prada schon verlassen war, musste der Pfarrer von Ravecchia jährlich 12 Messen halten, 4 davon an vorbestimmten Festtagen. Dies geschah noch bis Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts. In der Folge wurden sie zuerst auf 4 und dann auf 2 beschränkt, wie es heute noch Brauch ist: an Pfingstmontag und an San Rocco (2. Sonntag im August). Bis in die 1950er-Jahre gab es an diesem Sonntag von der Kirche San Biagio in Ravecchia nach Prada eine Prozession. Die ursprüngliche Kirche war nicht so, wie wir sie heute kennen; sie war kleiner. Der Chor wurde gegen Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts angefügt (1680-1690). Auf der Lünette, die den Heiligen Girolamo darstellt und sich über dem Chorfenster befindet, sehen wir das Datum von 1686. Der Glockenturm wurde 1816 gebaut. Dies sind spürbare Zeichen der besonderen Zuneigung seitens der Bevölkerung Ravecchias für diesen Ort, auch wenn das Dorf schon lange verlassen war. Der heutige Glockenturm, wie schon erwähnt 1816 errichtet, kostete 993,13 Mailänder Lire. Zum Bau wurden Steine der Häuser verwendet; dies bezeugen zwei schön verarbeitete Blöcke: einer in der südlichen Wand, der andere in der nördlichen ungefähr auf halber Höhe des Turms. In diesen Blöcken sieht man deutlich das Loch, wo die Spitze des Türriegels eingesetzt wurde, was darauf hindeutet, dass sie von den Türen der alten Häuser stammen. Andere Blöcke findet man auch im Turminneren. Im gleichen Jahr wurden auch zwei Glocken erworben. 1938, während der Bauarbeiten des neuen Krankenhauses San Giovanni Battista (Johannes der Täufer) fand man eine fein bearbeitete Steinplatte mit folgender Inschrift: „Haec sacra turris edificata est a fundamentis anno Domini MDCCCXVI“, d.h. „Dieser heilige Turm wurde von Grund auf im Jahre des Herrn 1816 erbaut“. Heute befindet sich die Platte an der Innenmauer des Kirchhofs neben dem Eingangsportal. Laut Berichten von Pastoralbesuchen gab es vor dem jetzigen Turm einen kleinen Glockengiebel über dem Haupteingang. 2010, während Reinigungs- und Aufräumarbeiten, entdeckte man zufälligerweise unter einer Blätter- und Humusschicht zwei halbkreisförmige, perfekt verarbeitete Türbalken aus Stein. Es ist das erste Mal, dass Tragbalken in dieser Form gefunden wurden. Sie stammen von zwei Hintereingängen und weisen keine Inschrift auf. Sie wurden im einzigen Haus gefunden, dessen Tragbalken des Haupteingangs noch an seinem ursprünglichen Platz war, dreiecksförmig mit einem eingemeißelten Kreuz.

Placehold


Votivkunst

Spätmittelalterliche Malereien wurden 2007 während der Restaurierungsarbeiten der Wandgemälde im Chor unter einer Verputzschicht entdeckt. Dank dieser letzten fachspezifischen Arbeit konnten weitere wichtige Informationen zur Geschichte dieser Kirche gewonnen werden. Wie schon erwähnt wurde der Chor, dort wo sich heute der Altar befindet, um 1680 hinzugefügt. Demzufolge war die ursprüngliche Kirche kleiner und reichte bis zum Triumphbogen, der auch als Abschlussmauer diente. Beweis dafür ist das noch heute vorhandene, kreuzförmige Fensterchen, das aber nur vom Dachboden der Kirche aus sichtbar ist. Um mehr zu erfahren, müsste eine archäologische Untersuchung unter dem Fußboden durchgeführt werden. Wahrscheinlich war die Altarmensa klein, an die Wand gelehnt und fast sicher dekoriert. Längs der inneren, unteren Ränder der Bogenlaibung (beidseitig) und der ursprünglichen Abschlussmauer (demoliert, um den Chor anzufügen) sieht man die Reste einer architektonischen Abstufung. Im Mörtel auf der linken Seite der Bogenlaibung wurde ein Stück bemalten Verputz gefunden, der wahrscheinlich diese Abstufung auffüllte. Laut den Restauratoren enthielt dieses Fundstück, das nicht mehr vorhanden ist, ein Dekorationsfragment mit einem spiralförmigen Motiv, das den Jessebaum darstellen könnte und die Figuren in der Bogenlaibung begleitete. Diese 10 Figuren stellen Propheten und Könige dar, Vorfahren Jesu, darunter auch Moses, mit ein Paar Hörnern dargestellt. Zu jeder dieser Figuren hat es einen Schriftzug, der schwierig zu deuten ist, da die Buchstaben fast gänzlich verblichen sind. Es gibt noch zwei andere Figuren, die sind aber vom Verputz unter der Konsole verdeckt. Ursprünglich hatte es wahrscheinlich keine Kapitelle sondern nur glatte, bemalte Kämpfer (Impost). Für die Restauratoren drängt sich ein Vergleich mit der Nord-Apsis (Seregneser Schule) der Kirche S. Ambrogio in Negrentino-Prugiasco auf.

Placehold




Text und Fotos aus dem Buch
"Prada una chiesa un villaggio"
von Pierluigi Piccaluga























contatori